Item added to your cart.

Nothing Can Stop Us
Cornell Campbell Meets Soothsayers
Catalogue Number
Release Date
July 8, 2013

Vinyl comes in 180g, only in the Strut Webstore, limited to 100 units!

Strut presents the first new instalment in its acclaimed Inspiration Information studio collaboration series for over two years in May 2013 with a superb new soundclash featuring sweet-voiced Jamaican legend Cornell Campbell and the excellent London-based reggae and Afro-dub collective, Soothsayers, led by Robin Hopcraft and Idris Rahman.

The pairing first took shape through a chance meeting between Cornell Campbell and Hopcraft in Kingston, Jamaica early in 2011. A session was arranged at Bunny Lee’s recording studio in West Kingston and, within days, the collaboration produced the sweet ‘I’ll Never Leave’, a homage to Cornell’s island home country in Parish of St Elizabeth. The dub version of the track was released alongside Soothsayers’ ‘We’re Not Leaving’ in August 2011 and the Cornell Campbell version followed on a 45 on Soothsayers’ own Red Earth label a month later.

Now signed to Strut, the collaboration has recorded a full album, a conscious and roots-based set with Cornell Campbell’s iconic, sweet vocals underpinned by deep, dubby rhythm section work and some fresh, intricate arrangements. Hopcraft adds, “We gave Cornell recordings of some ideas we had been working on. He took them away and developed some lyrics. Idris and I also wrote a few complete songs that Cornell loved and he blessed them with his vocals.”

Within the tracklist, the collective revisits Cornel’s poignant 1970s sufferer’s classic ‘Jah Jah Me No Born Yah’ augmented by the addition of horns and Hammond organ bringing out the Moorish melodies of the original. Soothsayers also bring their trademark fusion of influences to the table and move Cornell’s sound into bold new directions, rocking on a rolling Afro groove for the hard-hitting ‘Nothing Can Stop Us’ and simmering on the downtempo reggae soul gem, ‘There’s A Fire’.

The album carries forward the considerable legacy of Campbell’s recordings over the last half century, from his early work with “Coxsone” Dodd at Studio One to ‘70s and ‘80s classics with Joe Gibbs, Bunny “Striker” Lee, King Tubby and Winston “Niney” Observer. For Soothsayers, the album is the culmination of ten years leading the London live scene. Comprising musicians that have played with many top artists including Mulatu Astatke, Jerry Dammers’ Spatial AKA Arkestra and Hugh Masekela, the band are known for their excellent collaborations with Johnny Clarke, Maxi Jazz (Faithless), Keziah Jones and more and form the nucleus of the band that backed the London leg of the ‘Fela!’ musical during 2011. The band cemented their reputation with the self-released album ‘Human Nature’ during 2012. As The Independent On Sunday testified, “The grooves are solid, the playing immaculate and the three-part vocal harmonies the icing on the cake.”

Cornell Campbell & Soothsayers’ ‘Nothing Can Stop Us’, part of the Inspiration Information series on Strut, is released in June 2013 on CD, LP and digital formats. Artwork features an exclusive illustration by UK designer Lewis Heriz.

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 Nothing Can Stop Us 4:01 Buy

    Nothing Can Stop Us

  2. 2 Conqueror 4:10 Buy


  3. 3 I'll Never Leave 4:14 Buy

    I'll Never Leave

  4. 4 With You My Heart Belongs 4:36 Buy

    With You My Heart Belongs

  5. 5 It's Not For Me 3:42 Buy

    It's Not For Me

  6. 6 Ode To Joy (Babylon Can't Control I) 4:58 Buy

    Ode To Joy (Babylon Can't Control I)

  7. 7 We Want to Be Free 4:08 Buy

    We Want to Be Free

  8. 8 Good Direction 3:58 Buy

    Good Direction

  9. 9 Never Give Up 4:10 Buy

    Never Give Up

  10. 10 There's a Fire 4:12 Buy

    There's a Fire

  11. 11 Jah Jah Me No Born Yah 4:24 Buy

    Jah Jah Me No Born Yah

Track List: LP

A1 Nothing Can Stop Us
A2 Conqueror
A3 I'll Never Leave

B1 With You My Heart Belongs
B2 It's Not For Me
B3 Ode To Joy (Babylon Can't Control I)

C1 We Want To Be Free
C2 Good Direction
C3 Never Give Up

D1 There's A Fire
D2 Jah Jah Me No Born Yah
D3 Jah Jah Me No Born Yah (Dub Outro)

Track List: CD

  1. Nothing Can Stop Us
  2. Conqueror
  3. I'll Never Leave
  4. With You My Heart Belongs
  5. It's Not For Me
  6. Ode To Joy (Babylon Can't Control I)
  7. We Want To Be Free
  8. Good Direction
  9. Never Give Up
  10. There's A Fire
  11. Jah Jah Me No Born Yah
  12. Jah Jah Me No Born Yah (Dub Outro)
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences