Item added to your cart.


Shina Williams & His African Percussionists

Back in 1979 when Shina Williams’ ‘Agboju Logun’ first appeared on his ‘African Dances’ LP, Williams knew well that the track was breaking new ground. “I want to show the whole wide world that Africa is alive with modern musicians to reckon with anywhere,” he stated. Now an accepted Afro disco classic of its time, ‘Agboju Logun’ did indeed bring together the cream of Nigeria’s players as a one-off supergroup in one inspired session. As a long-standing and well respected highlife musician and vocalist, Williams called in the ‘A’ list: Tunde Martins from Afro Collective played bass guitar, the brilliant Biddy Wright (player on albums by Lijadu Sisters, Blo and many more) contributed the famous synth lines and handled production, Fred Fisher was on trombone and Saliu Alabi played talking drum.

Enjoying limited success upon its release in Nigeria, ‘African Dances’ nevertheless gained some international attention when Earthworks’ Jumbo Van Renan licensed two tracks from it for an international 12” single release in 1984, remixing ‘Agboju Logun’ in a more stripped back mix for dancefloors. However, it was the period following Fela Kuti’s death in the late ‘90s that truly ignited interest in archive African grooves for a new internet generation. Strut’s first ‘Nigeria 70’ compilation featured the track in 2000 and it has been a staple in DJs’ crates ever since.

‘Abboju Logun’ is released in a picture jacket 12” featuring original artwork and all musicians’ credits and is fully remastered by The Carvery.
  • ReleaseProduct
    Agb'oju L'ogun
    Shina Williams & His African Percussionists
    Catalogue Number
    Release Date
    June 16, 2017

    Strut present a brand new 12' reissue of Shina Williams' monster Nigerian disco anthem 'Agboju Logun', pairing the rare original album version (originally released on Phonodisk Nigeria) with the more sparse 12' remix which surfaced later internationally on Earthworks. This is the third release on STRUT'S new Original Masters Series.

    Digital Track List

    1. 1 Agb'oju L'ogun (Original 12 Version) 11:42 Buy

      Agb'oju L'ogun (Original 12 Version)

    2. 2 Agb'oju L'ogun (Original LP Version) 11:39 Buy

      Agb'oju L'ogun (Original LP Version)

--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.

Accept Cookies
Edit cookies preferences