Item added to your cart.

Next Stop ... Soweto Vol. 3: Giants, Ministers and Makers: Jazz in South Africa 1963-1984
Various Artists
Catalogue Number
Release Date
August 3, 2010

Strut conclude their essential three-part excursion into the archives of South African music with the third and final volume of the ‘Next Stop… Soweto’ series. Volume 3 is a long overdue retrospective of the rich jazz scene happening in South Africa from the early ‘60s to mid-‘80s. The album features many of the recognised South African jazz greats like saxophonist Dudu Pukwana and drummer Early Mabuza. The album features an unreleased track and rare photos from the ‘60s and ‘70s.

Digital Track List

  1. 1 Ngena Mntan'am The Ministers 5:02 Buy
  2. 2 Be There Skyf 5:09 Buy
  3. 3 Joy Spirits Rejoice 4:27 Buy
  4. 4 Orlando Dennis Mpale 9:47 Buy
  5. 5 Dedication (To Daddy Trane And Brother Shorter) Mankunku Quartet 10:14 Buy
  6. 6 Itumeleng Various Artists 15:58 Buy
  7. 7 Ou Kaas Themba 4:21 Buy
  8. 8 Sibathathu Malombo Jazz Makers 2:39 Buy
  9. 9 Stay Cool Tete Mbambisa 9:42 Buy
  10. 10 Little Old Man (Maxhegwana) Early Mabuza Quartet 1:40 Buy
Show All Tracks 19
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.

Accept Cookies
Edit cookies preferences