Article ajouté à votre panier.

Validation de votre commande
New York - Addis - LondonThe Story of Ethio Jazz 1965-1975
Mulatu Astatke
Catalogue Number
Release Date
20 octobre 2009

Vibraphone and keyboard player, master arranger and bandleader, Mulatu Astatke is one of the all-time greats of Ethiopian music and the creator of his own original music form, Ethio jazz. Through the acclaimed Ethiopiques album series and through featuring on the soundtrack to the Jim Jarmusch film Broken Flowers, his music has belatedly reached a global audience and a new, younger generation of fans. In November of last year, he recorded an inspired new album with London psych jazz band The Heliocentrics for Strut’s ‘Inspiration Information’ studio collaboration series. Now, Strut are proud to present, for the first time anywhere, the definitive Mulatu career retrospective covering his landmark ‘60s and ‘70s recordings.

Mulatu is a true pioneer of African music. He was the first Ethiopian musician of his generation to travel extensively and to record abroad – he studied in the UK in Wales and at Trinity College Of Music in London, cutting his teeth on the buoyant London jazz scene of the early ‘60s. He became the first African student to attend Harvard and he lived and recorded in New York, developing a unique sound that fused Western jazz with traditional Ethiopian melodies. As Mulatu says, “it took a long time to get the balance, to let the colours and the feelings of the Ethiopian modes shine through.” Returning to ‘Swinging Addis’ during the late ’60s, he became a pivotal figure, arranging for many of the country’s top vocalists and developing rich, dense textures in his own music during the final years of Selassie’s reign and the mid-‘70s rule of the Derg Communist military junta.

Tracing the progression of his Ethio jazz experiments with full access to all of the labels for whom he recorded, Mulatu Astatke: New York-Addis-London is the essential Mulatu. Covering his first recordings in the UK during 1965, his groundbreaking fusions for the small Worthy label in New York and his key ‘70s recordings back in Addis on Amha, Phillips and Axum, the album features comprehensive sleeve notes by Miles Cleret, boss of the excellent Soundway Records imprint, and rare, previously unseen photos from Mulatu’s personal archive.

For more info check:

Liste de titres pour édition numérique

  1. 1 Yèkèrmo Sèw 4:13 Acheter

    Yèkèrmo Sèw

  2. 2 I Faram Gami I Faram 5:33 Acheter

    I Faram Gami I Faram

  3. 3 Shagu 3:05 Acheter


  4. 4 Mulatu 5:01 Acheter


  5. 5 Fikratchin with Menelik Wossenatchew 3:04 Acheter

    Fikratchin with Menelik Wossenatchew

  6. 6 Yègellé Tezeta 3:14 Acheter

    Yègellé Tezeta

  7. 7 Asiyo Bellema feat. Frank Holder & Niaaza Alsherif 2:52 Acheter

    Asiyo Bellema feat. Frank Holder & Niaaza Alsherif

  8. 8 Emnete 3:29 Acheter


  9. 9 Lanchi Biye with Tilahun Gessesse 3:08 Acheter

    Lanchi Biye with Tilahun Gessesse

  10. 10 Yefikir Tizita 4:07 Acheter

    Yefikir Tizita

Afficher tous les titres 20

Track List

  1. Yèkèrmo Sèw 04:13
  2. I Faram Gami I Faram 05:33
  3. Shagu 03:05
  4. Mulatu 05:01
  5. Fikratchin with Menelik Wossenatchew 03:04
  6. Yègellé Tezeta 03:14
  7. Asiyo Bellema feat. Frank Holder & Niaaza Alsherif 02:52
  8. Emnete 03:29
  9. Lanchi Biye with Tilahun Gessesse 03:08
  10. Yefikir Tizita 04:07
  11. Yèkatit 03:53
  12. Ebo Lala with Seifu Yohannes 03:34
  13. Wubit with Muluken Melesse 05:31
  14. Dèwèl 04:13
  15. Mascaram Setaba 01:50
  16. Girl From Addis Ababa 03:49
  17. Kasalèfkut Hulu 02:42
  18. Nètsanèt 05:32
  19. Ené Alantchie Alnorem 04:59
  20. Tezeta 06:13

Mulatu Astatke

--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.

Accepter les cookies
Modifier les préférences de cookies