Item added to your cart.

Sun Ra Singles Vol. 2
Sun Ra
Catalogue Number
Release Date
November 9, 2022
  • Sun Ra Singles vol.1 & vol.2:

    Sold out
    • Sun Ra Singles Vol. 1 Vinyl, 3×LP

    • Sun Ra Singles Vol. 2 Vinyl, 3×LP

    3LP each

    Available: October 26, 2022

Strut & Art Yart present a new definitive collection of singles released by jazz maverick Sun Ra during his Earth years, spanning 1952 to 1991. Released prolifically during the 1950s and more sporadically thereafter, primarily on the Saturn label, the 45s offer one-off meteorites from Ra’s prolific cosmic journey, tracing the development of his forward-thinking “Space-Bop” and his unique take on jazz and blues traditions which sounded unlike anything else from the period. As with his LPs, most 45s were only pressed in small runs and were sold at gigs and have since become extremely rare and sought after. Some have only been discovered in physical form in recent years; some were planned and pencilled but allegedly never made it to vinyl and some appeared as one-off magazine singles and posthumous releases.

'Singles' will be released in various formats across two release dates. All formats feature fully re-mastered tracks, rare photos, poster artwork, extensive sleeve notes by Francis Gooding, an interview with Saturn Records founder Alton Abraham by John Corbett and detailed track by track and session notes by Paul Griffiths. The 45s box sets are limited to 500 copies, and each features a hardboard flip top box containing 10 x 45s in their original artwork along with a bound 28pp booklet.

All orders including a 5 ounce Natural Cotton Shopper.

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 I Am An Instrument Sun Ra 1:37 Buy

    I Am An Instrument

  2. 2 I Am Strange Sun Ra 3:12 Buy

    I Am Strange

  3. 3 Chicago USA Sun Ra With Nu Sounds 2:56 Buy

    Chicago USA

  4. 4 Spaceship Lullaby Sun Ra & The Nu Sounds 2:18 Buy

    Spaceship Lullaby

  5. 5 Daddy's Gonna Tell You No Lie (Demo Version) The Cosmic Rays With Sun Ra And Arkestra 3:07 Buy

    Daddy's Gonna Tell You No Lie (Demo Version)

  6. 6 A Foggy Day The Nu Sounds With Sun Ra And Arkestra 1:04 Buy

    A Foggy Day

  7. 7 I'm Coming Home Billie Hawkins With Sun-Ra & His Orchestra 2:03 Buy

    I'm Coming Home

  8. 8 Last Call For Love Billie Hawkins With Sun-Ra & His Orchestra 2:27 Buy

    Last Call For Love

  9. 9 Soft Talk Sun Ra & His Arkestra 2:43 Buy

    Soft Talk

  10. 10 Super Blonde Sun Ra & His Arkestra 2:36 Buy

    Super Blonde

Show All Tracks 65

Track List

A1 Space Lonliness
A2 State Street
A3 The Blue Set
A4 Big City Blues

B1 A Blue One
B2 Orbitration In Blue
B3 Hell #1 (a.k.a Out There A Minute)
B4 Tell Her To Come On Home
B5 I'm Making Believe

C1 The Bridge
C2 Rocket #9
C3 Blues On Planet Mars
C4 Saturn Moon
C5 Journey To Saturn
C6 Enlightenment

D1 I'm Gonna Unmask The Batman
D2 The Perfect Man
D3 Love In Outer Space
D4 Mayan Temple
D5 Sky Blues

E1 Disco 2021
E2 Rough House Blues
E3 Cosmo-Extensions
E4 Quest
E5 Outer Space Plateau
E6 Sometimes I'm Happy

F1 Nuclear War
F2 On Jupiter / Cosmo Drama (Prophetika 1)
F3 Cosmo Drama (Prophetika 2)
F4 I Am The Instrument

Sun Ra

View More
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences