Item added to your cart.

Catalogue Number
Release Date
May 20, 2022

Flock is a brand new collaboration between five leading musicians from London's open-minded jazz and experimental scenes: Bex Burch (Vula Viel), Sarathy Korwar, Dan “Danalogue” Leavers (Soccer96, The Comet Is Coming), Al MacSween (Maisha) and Tamar Osborn (Collocutor).

Gathering together at The Fish Factory in London Summer 2020, the approach was to try something fresh. “I wrote texts as scores for the session and the emphasis was on breathing and listening to each other,” explains Bex Burch. “Improvisation is composition in itself,” continues Burch, “so although the music was freely improvised, we sometimes chose to stay on form and rhythm, repeating melodies and groove. As Dan commented on the day, we ‘murmurated’. The expansive 13-minute piece ‘How Many Are One’ on the album is the perfect example, a collective following and leading as the music developed.”

Other tracks include the pulsing, searching opener ‘Expand’, the taught soundscape ‘Prepare To Let Go’ and the frenetic, urgent ‘Bold Dream’. At times widescreen and cinematic and at others more tense and claustrophobic, each Flock piece explores its own colour and mood.

“Some of the band had actually never met in person before the session. We played virtually together for the Boiler Room. So every moment in this process has been a new journey into the unknown. It goes to show that we were never in control even when we thought we were, and yet we made it. Everyone came, breathed and brought openness of heart, ears, lungs and wings.”

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 Expand 3:59 Buy


  2. 2 Prepare To Let Go 4:45 Buy

    Prepare To Let Go

  3. 3 Sounds Welcome 7:30 Buy

    Sounds Welcome

  4. 4 It's Complicated 13:35 Buy

    It's Complicated

  5. 5 What Purpose 3:33 Buy

    What Purpose

  6. 6 Murmuration 1:58 Buy


  7. 7 Bold Dream 6:12 Buy

    Bold Dream

  8. 8 My Resonance 7:40 Buy

    My Resonance

  9. 9 How Many Are One? 13:48 Buy

    How Many Are One?

  10. 10 Fully Breathed 4:37 Buy

    Fully Breathed

Track List: 2LP

A1 Expand
A2 Prepare to let go
A3 Sounds welcome

B1 It´s complicated
B2 What purpose

C1 Murmuration
C2 Bold dream
C3 My resonance

D1 How many are one
D2 Fully Breathed

Track List: CD

1 Expand
2 Prepare to let go
3 Sounds welcome
4 It´s complicated
5 What purpose
6 Murmuration
7 Bold dream
8 My resonance
9 How many are one
10 Fully Breathed


--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences