Item adicionado ao seu cesto.

Sun Ra Arkestra
Catalogue Number
Release Date
30 Outubro 2020

The planets align this October as the mighty Sun Ra Arkestra, under the direction of the maestro Marshall Allen, release their first studio album in over twenty years, ‘Swirling’.

Recorded at Rittenhouse Soundworks in Philadelphia, the new recording represents the continuation of a heartfelt rebirth of the Arkestra under Allen’s guidance since Sun Ra left the planet in 1993, gaining new generations of followers from their regular touring across the globe. With a big band line-up featuring long-standing Arkestra members including Danny Ray Thompson (RIP), Michael Ray, Vincent Chancey, Knoel Scott, Cecil Brooks, Atakatune (RIP), Elson Nascimento and Tyler Mitchell, the album is a full-blooded celebration of Sun Ra’s legacy.

Tracks include brand new arrangements of Arkestra staples ‘Angels And Demons At Play’, ‘Satellites Are Spinning’, ‘Door Of The Cosmos’ and ‘Rocket No. 9’ alongside lesser known gems; the rousing blues ‘Darkness’ is recorded here for the first time, resurrected from the Ra archives by Marshall Allen. Other highlights include an epic version of ‘Seductive Fantasy’ (first recorded on Ra’s ‘On Jupiter’ LP in 1979), the freeform sonic blast of ‘Infinity / I’ll Wait For You’ and a first ever recording of the Marshall Allen swing composition, ‘Swirling’.

“We truly hope that this recording brings much joy to a planet which is so deeply in need of a spirit sound and vibration,” states saxophonist Knoel Scott. “We hope it contributes to a change in the ominous direction of man’s journey through the cosmos.” “This new release is the Arkestra’s love offering to the world,” concludes Marshall Allen. “Beta music for a better world.”

Sun Ra Arkestra’s ‘Swirling’ is released on 9th October 2020 on Strut on all formats. The album was produced by Jim Hamilton at Rittenhouse Soundworks. Cover artwork is by Lewis Heriz.

SUN RA ARKESTRA Under the direction of Marshall Allen Marshall Allen: Alto Saxophone, EVI Knoel Scott: Alto Saxophone James Stewart: Tenor Saxophone, Flute Danny Ray Thompson: Baritone Saxophone, Flute Michael Ray: Trumpet Cecil Brooks: Trumpet Vincent Chancey: French Horn Dave Davis: Trombone, Vocals Farid Barron: Piano Dave Hotep: Guitar Tyler Mitchell: Bass Wayne Anthony Smith, Jr.: Drums Elson Nascimento: Surdo Drums, Percussion Stanley “Atakatune” Morgan: Congas Tara Middleton: Vocals, Violin

Lista de Faixas Digitais

  1. 1 Satellites Are Spinning / Lights on a Satellite 8:00 Comprar

    Satellites Are Spinning / Lights on a Satellite

  2. 2 Seductive Fantasy 11:49 Comprar

    Seductive Fantasy

  3. 3 Swirling 7:41 Comprar


  4. 4 Angels and Demons at Play 7:05 Comprar

    Angels and Demons at Play

  5. 5 Sea of Darkness / Darkness 5:15 Comprar

    Sea of Darkness / Darkness

  6. 6 Rocket No. 9 4:59 Comprar

    Rocket No. 9

  7. 7 Astro Black 4:50 Comprar

    Astro Black

  8. 8 Infinity / I'll Wait for You 9:17 Comprar

    Infinity / I'll Wait for You

  9. 9 Unmask the Batman 4:28 Comprar

    Unmask the Batman

  10. 10 Sunology 4:25 Comprar


  11. 11 Queer Notions 5:39 Comprar

    Queer Notions

  12. 12 Space Loneliness 12:06 Comprar

    Space Loneliness

  13. 13 Door of the Cosmos / Say 7:27 Comprar

    Door of the Cosmos / Say

--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.

Aceitar os Cookies
Editar as preferências de cookies