Item added to your cart.

Nigeria 70: Box Set
Various Artists
Catalogue Number
Release Date
January 4, 2020

Strut present an exclusive new box set bringing together the complete groundbreaking Nigeria 70 series. Comprising 9 LPs and featuring all 4 volumes, the set also features a 24 page 12-inch-size booklet featuring previously unpublished interviews with artists and figures from Nigeria’s 1970s music scene alongside 7 thick card collector 12” prints of original ‘70s Nigerian album sleeves and a download including the full digital series and original Nigeria 70 audio documentary, narrated by Wunmi.

Originally released in 2001, Nigeria 70 was the first compilation of its kind to explore in depth the fertile music scene in Lagos as domestic artists mixed highlife and traditional rhythms with soul, funk, rock and jazz. While Western audiences were already familiar with Fela Kuti and his life story, the album placed the spotlight on some of the other great musicians and bandleaders in Nigeria during the ‘70s period: Joni Haastrup, Peter King, Segun Bucknor, Bala Miller, Blo, King Sunny Ade, Tunji Oyelana and many more. Three further volumes followed, exploring the far corners of original Afrobeat, juju, funk and soul.

This new box set is the definitive edition for all lovers of original Nigerian sounds. The booklet features all unseen photos from the original Nigeria 70 research trip in Lagos in 2000 along with transcripts of all of the interviews conducted with artists, producers and industry figures, many of whom have sadly since passed away. Contributors include Segun Bucknor, Harry Mosco (The Funkees), Tunde Kuboye (Afro Collection), Ginger Baker, Ebenezer Obey, journalist Benson Idonije, Elder Steve Rhodes and Ray Njoku (Arc Studios). The exclusive 12” prints include original sleeve artwork from Segun Bucknor, Sir Victor Uwaifo, Bala Miller and Sahara All Stars Jos.

The Nigeria 70 series is curated by Duncan Brooker, Quinton Scott and Kayode Samuel with artist interviews by Sue Bowerman. Lagos connections courtesy of Laolu Akins (Blo). The series was fully remastered by The Carvery.

Deluxe hardboard box set including 9 LPs (all 4 volumes), 24-page 12” booklet featuring artist interviews and unseen photos and 7 x collector 12” cards featuring original sleeve artwork.

Limited Edition Product

--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.

Accept Cookies
Edit cookies preferences